An epiphany maybe?

Sökte på youtube videon kring ätstörningar och bulimi och hittade en video där en man rekommenderar att läsa Kathryn Hansens Brain over binge och lyssna på en audio The body you deserve av Anthony Robbins. Laddade genast ner båda och började läsa på Brain over binge och blev positivt överraskad. Jag såg en alldeles ny approach till hur jag skall ta itu med min bulimi. Enligt författaren har ätstörningar inte nödvändigtvis sk. deeper meanings, utan att de bara är dåliga vanor som hjärnan utvecklar. Hansen menar att t.ex. bulimi tankarna kommer ifrån vår "animal brain", som efter många hetsätningar har utvecklat ett vana och påstår att kroppen måste hetsäta. Denna sida av hjärnan kan dock inte få en människa att agera på tankarna. Vår andra sida av hjärnan, "the human brain", är den som gör beslutet att gå till kylskåpet och hetsäta. Författaren menar att man enbart måste lära sig skilja på dessa två sidor av hjärnan, och försöka tänka att vad denna "animal brain" säger inte är du själv. På det sättet borde man bli av med bulimi. Ifall hon har lyckats, kanske jag också kan?
 
 
Efter att ha läst första delen av boken (om hur författaren blev av med sin bulimi), har jag fått en alldeles ny inblick i hur jag skall försöka bli av med min bulimi. Jag medger att jag är skeptisk, men ingenting har fungerat hittills så bäst att pröva på detta. Berättar mer om boken då jag läst mer och ifall den har hjälpt.
 
 
Det är så lätt att relatera till allt vad hon skriver; här är några citat från första delen av boken:
 
 

"When I began to binge, it was as if I entered a trance where nothing else mattered—not driving, not listening to music, not my cell phone ringing, not making plans for next semester. All that mattered was where I would get the next sugary and fattening item for my binge. I knew it was wrong, disgusting, gluttonous, abnormal, costly, unhealthy, and irresponsible; but in the moment, I didn't care.

 

The food was no longer enjoyable, and I felt sick, but as long as I kept eating, I didn't have to think about anything else—I only had to chew and swallow. I felt completely numb.

 

It wasn't until I had eaten the last bite of Pop-Tart that I started to feel uneasy. As I slowly returned to my senses, what I'd done that day became very real to me. The shame, guilt, and self-hatred set in. What made it worse was that I hadn't even been back on campus for fifteen minutes, and I'd already broken my promise to myself.

 

I'd known I was underweight, and part of me liked it.

 

I knew I'd needed to gain the weight I had my first semester, but I didn't like the way I'd done it. I felt driven to binge by some force beyond my control, and I feared the scale would just keep escalating.

 

So only two days later, I broke all the promises I made to myself and binged again. I found myself back at all my regular snack shops and fast-food chains. Afterward, full of shame and self-disgust, I threw away the Pop-Tart wrapper from my desk drawer and replaced it with a potato chip bag—the last item I'd eaten during this binge—and told myself that it was truly over now. I again overexercised the next day to compensate for my latest lapse, and I again felt renewed after my workout, determined to start over. I was successful for a few days at a time, only to eventually succumb to my desire to binge. This cycle was repeated over and over.

 

I placed exercise and weight control above most everything else in my life.

 

Furthermore, part of me felt anxious at the thought of giving up binge eating for good. I had been binge eating for so long that I wondered if I could live without it. I wondered what my life would be like if I quit, and part of me felt great sadness when I thought of completely giving up my bulimia, because, after all, part of me did relish every bite. I reminded myself that the part of me that didn't want to quit was the animalistic part of my brain." (Brain over binge, Hansen Kathryn)

 
Har inte ännu börjat med audion, men skriver om den när jag kommit igång :)
 
 



Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

stairwaytolife.blogg.se

Bloggar om min ätstörning (anorexi,bulimi), ortorexi, depression, alkoholmissbruk, festande, män, familj, kompisar, studier, jobb...

RSS 2.0